MEMBER  NON MEMBER  SISTER/PARTNER ORGANIZATION
 SINGLE SESSION  €35 ($40 USD)

90 ($110 USD) 65 ($80 USD)
 FULL SERIES 
available for limited time only
(6 sessions)
165 ($200 USD) €500 ($600 USD) €400 ($480 USD)


Full series pricing ends on February 23.
Register early to benefit from the reduced rate!

THE CHANGING NATURE OF WORK
 T U E S D A Y,  F E B R U A R Y  2 3,  2 0 2 1 
12pm EST, 5pm GMT, 6pm CET, 7pm SAST, 4am AEDT

In addition to a workforce that has already been seen to include less formalized employment relationships, such as those in the “gig economy”, the COVID-19 pandemic has significantly altered, perhaps permanently, the way in which employees work and the way in which employers will hire in the future. This session will examine the impact on pension plans and other retirement savings programs of the changing relationship between organizations and those who work for them. If work that was previously carried out in a traditional office environment can simply be done by a remote workforce anywhere in the world, will organizations, particularly those in the private sector, still feel the need to provide retirement savings programs, or for that matter, will pension plans as we know them continue to exist in the long term? Will we start to see two classes of workers – those covered by retirement savings programs and those who are not, even within the same organization?

MODERATOR: Michael Wolpert, Fasken, Canada 
PANELISTS: Paul Owens, Government of Alberta, Canada, Wijnanda Rutten, Clifford Chance, the Netherlands




WHY MISSING MEMBERS MATTER

 W E D N E S D A Y,  A P R I L  2 8,  2 0 2 1 
12pm EST, 5pm GMT, 6pm CET, 6pm SAST, 2am AEDT

In recent years, concerns related to missing plan members have become a focus for plan sponsors, their advisors and regulators.  This panel will discuss a number of recent developments and legal issues arising in their respective jurisdictions, including:

  • Emerging regulatory requirements
  • Implications for plan administrators and sponsors
  • Developing robust procedures to comply with fiduciary and regulatory requirements
  • Other insights and best practices

MODERATOR: Jeff Mamorsky, Greenberg Traurig LLP, U.S.A 
PANELISTS: Terry Moore, Greenberg Traurig LLP, U.S.A, Lyle Teichman, Willis Towers Watson, Canada, Elise Laeremans, Younity, Belgium,
Deidre Phillips, Bowmans, South Africa



LEGAL ISSUES ON THE DECUMULATION PHASE FOR DC PLAN MEMBERS
 T U E S D A Y,  J U N E  2 9,  2 0 2 1 
3pm EST, 8pm GMT, 9pm CET, 9pm SAST, 5am AEDT


A DC plan member generally must choose from several basic ways in which to use his or her plan retirement account to provide retirement income, with the goal of not outliving his or her retirement account balance. In order to enjoy a reasonably certain level of retirement income a DC plan member will have to understand and manage a number of risks, including:

  • investment risk,
  • longevity risk, and
  • inflation risk.

The panel will discuss a variety of topics including:

  • the different approaches to management of these risks, and the insights gained from experiences so far in the 4 jurisdictions covered by the panel of speakers
  • constraints imposed by tax rules in the jurisdiction in question as to what decumulation options are available
  • the risk to plan fiduciaries and employers of liability in the decumulation phase
  • liability for information to plan members on decumulation investment strategies and withdrawal rates
  • some of the challenges of collective risk sharing in a transparent way

MODERATOR: Philip Bennett, Durham University, UK
PANELISTS: Michael Wolpert, Fasken, Canada, Sandy Maudgil Slaughter and May, UK





CLOSING THE GENDER PENSION GAP
 T U E S D A Y,  A U G U S T  3 1,  2 0 2 1 
12pm EST, 5pm GMT, 6pm CET, 6pm SAST, 2am AEDT

Gender and diversity issues in and around pension schemes lead to a further deepening of social inequality across the globe. The panel focuses on gender-related structural challenges around pension schemes and discusses possible ways to solve such issues, with a view to strengthening awareness amongst pension practitioners that gender equality not only includes equal pay on salaries but also an equal and fair share in pension accruals and entitlements.

MODERATOR: TBC
PANELISTS: TBC





SCHEMING TO GET SCHEME ASSETS - CYBERSECURITY 
 T U E S D A Y,  O C T O B E R  2 6,  2 0 2 1 
12pm EST, 5pm GMT, 6pm CET, 6pm SAST, 2am AEDT

As retirement security becomes increasingly digital, there are more opportunities for theft of data and assets of retirement schemes. We’ll be comparing the regulatory framework around the requirements for protecting retirement schemes as well as discussing the intersecting trends in criminal activity and liability.

MODERATOR: TBC
PANELISTS: TBC





SPECIAL TOPIC
 T U E S D A Y,  D E C E M B E R  7,  2 0 2 1  
12pm EST, 5pm GMT, 6pm CET, 7pm SAST, 4am AEDT

Session description coming soon

MODERATOR: TBC
PANELISTS: TBC




   
Contact us:
1 Eglinton Ave. E., Suite 705
Toronto, ON, M4P 3A1 Canada

Phone: 416-693-7775 
Toll-free number: 1-866-444-3387
contactIPEBLA@redstoneagency.ca  

Copyright | Disclaimer

©IPEBLA 2020

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software